Showtime is cancelled, Synergy.

jem

As I sit here in total and utter disgust I am trying to put to words the shame that has just been brought to my attention tonight in the first much-anticipated viewing of the Jem and The Holograms movie trailer.

I myself am a child of the 80s. I loved and adored Jem and the Holograms as many of my friends did as well. I wished so many times that Synergy would beam into my life and transform me and make me a rock star. I spent hours standing in front of the mirror singing the Jem songs and poofing my hair while I sang. I still have my much begged for Jem and the Holograms doll. Her shiny purple and silver dress was the height of me wanting to be Jem for Halloween. I only asked for that doll for Christmas and it was the only thing I thought of the night before Christmas before I opened all my gifts.

Please don’t think me an ungrateful person, as I was not one to ask for a million things. Most times my mother would have to guess what I might like to receive for Christmas as I usually only ask for one thing. The main reason being was that I knew my parents were not rich and I didn’t want to receive things that I knew I wouldn’t play with or use as that would waste my parents money. I still was blessed to have parents that did their best for us. I am just not a greedy person.

Back to Jem though. I was brought to tears today as I watched my childhood fall from the sky into a pile of wreckage right before my eyes. I watched as a whiny, grunge looking girl took on the persona of my favorite cartoon character and transform with the help of ….COSTUME DESIGNERS????????????? PLEASE TELL ME THIS ISNT REAL!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

I was happy with the choices for the people playing the Holograms, for the most part. There were five members of the band but only four made it to the movie. Jem, Kimber, Aja, and Shana. I liked for the most part their look. They kept with the color scheme of the band. They kept the shiny costumes and the slightly campy music that was Jem and the Holograms. I was happy to see that for the most part. What follows is the heart breaking part.

For guys cartoons and comic books, the movie industry seems to be able to keep for the most part the general feeling for each character. The hulk was radio actively created. Iron man was in a mechanical suit. Superman still came from Krypton with superpowers and the transformers still transformed. The heart breaking thing is Mr Chu has RUINED the whole background of Jem!

Jem is not Jem till her HOLOGRAM is put on her. She BECOMES Jem by way of Synergy. Jem is NOTHING without Synergy. He father lovingly made Synergy for her. He believed in her so much he made a fantastic hologram projector for her to be someone different to over come her stage fright. He ran the Starlight foundation, a home for orphaned girls. He ran STARLIGHT INDUSTRIES!!!!!!!!! When he died Jem inherited half of Starlight Industries. The whole battle was for her to win the right to run it as she saw fit and to save Starlight foundation.

I can forgive the fact they have changed Eric Raymond into Erica Raymond by a bad choice of using Juliet Lewis as the CEO of Starlight music. I can almost forgive the fact they almost portray Jerrica as more of a grungy type person.

What I can’t forgive is she lives with her Aunt Bailey (played by Molly Ringwald (rolls eyes)). She is supposed to be in her early 20s. I can’t forgive that there is no Starlight Foundation. I cannot forgive the biggest and worst failure in not putting in SYNERGY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Basically it falls to the Holograms who are only there in name… whats the point in them being the Holograms??? Why change her name to Jem? And why in heaven’s name does she ONE TIME rub her earring and say the iconic phrase “Its showtime Synergy!” if there is NO SYNERGY???

I for one will NOT be going to rush out to see this movie. I refuse to ruin my childhood and my memories of Jem and the Holograms as they were. I was so excited to see this movie and to share this wonderful movie with my nieces and even my sons. I looked forward to them seeing a female in a wonderful role… but alas… it will not be. Thank you Jon Chu for becoming the new Michael Bay and ruining something from our childhood. Shame on you!

Leave a Reply

