Review: Ant-Man #5

Writer: Nick Spencer
Artist: Ramon Rosanas
Cover: Mark Brooks

The sorta conclusion to the first art of Nick Spencer’s Ant-Man is here. Let me adjust by spouting that Ant-Man has been my favorite superhero since I was 4 living in Miami. So the fact that Ant-Man is in my hometown getting into all sorts of hijinks has been wonderful. Spencer/Rosanas the Ant-Man title I have been wanting for years. Scott Lang one of many to shrink into the Ant-Man mantle is face to face with the foe he first took on as Ant-Man, Darren Cross. Once again Darren Cross has put Scott’s daughter Cassie in harm’s way and Scott is the only one there to stop Cross.

The Good

Much like Kirkman before him, Spencer does a great job with not trying to oversell Ant-Man. Spencer and Rosanas do such a great job with giving you an absurdly funny yet totally honest title. Ramon Rosanas art style to me brilliantly breathes the kind story Spencer weaves. Much like Superior Foes of Spider-Man, Spencer is tell the kind of story we wish we heard more in super comics. It gives you the kind of perspective that many of us would probably have if we did half of this.  Every issue has been an absolutely joy as a lifetime Ant-Man. This issue does a great job with spring boarding for all the places I’m ready for Nick Spencer to take it!

The Bad

There is quite a bit going on in this issue for the uniformed Ant-fan. Darren Cross is not exactly the most commonly known villain, hell most of the characters in this title aren’t really either. So I can see where many people might make a half judgy smirk and brush off the c-list cast in this series. I think it adds to the humor of using the Marvel backstock, get on Marvel’s Wikipedia page and have a blast on this title.

The Verdict

This title is hilarious. A total spot on depiction of one of Marvel’s smallest heroes. Spencer/Rosanas are a perfect pairing to update my favorite Avenger, and I look forward to every issue that follows. I hope you will heed my advice and pick this title up and makre its on your pullist!

Story 4 out of 5
Art 4 out of 5
Overall 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

