Top o’ the Lot: Home Video Holiday Wish List

I’m continuing my Holiday Wish List series of Tops o’ the Lots this week with another gift I love giving and receiving, movies. I love movies, but I hate going to the movies, so I pretty much have a DVD or Blu-Ray going most of the time. While you’re building your Star Wars Lego Sets and playing with your Trek stuff, you need something to watch, and I’m running down my picks for the top Home Video Movies on my Christmas List. My favorite DVD/Blu-Ray movie releases of the calendar year were pretty straightforward, but there’s a surprise or two. So, without further ado, we get animated, give the love to the Capes, and watch way too much sci-fi, in Outright Geekery’s Top o’ the Lot: Home Video Holiday Wish List.


Honorable Mention: The LEGO Movie

Make it February NAOW!!

There were a ton of amazing films released on disc this year, but the one my kids and I had the most fun with was easily The LEGO Movie. Everything Was Awesome for weeks worth of rentals at my house, and we’re still spitting one-liners at each other. Put this under my tree, Santa!


5. Edge of Tomorrow

edge o tomBased on the graphic novel All You Need Is Kill by Hiroshi Sakurazaka, Edge of Tomorrow was Groundhog Day meets Starship Troopers, and despite the hate that Tom Cruise always seems to get, this was easily the best true action movie of the year. There were better action/comedies and better action/adventures, but for a simple action genre film, this was my fav. I hope it comes wrapped!


4. Robocop

robocop newYes, Robocop! Another sci-fi action flick, but the reboot of the 80’s pop-culture classic did an amazing job of capturing the essence of the original, while updating everything quite nicely, heaping on tons of action, and ramping up the socio-political undertones for the modern age. I’d buy it for a dollar, but I’d rather have a freebie with a big red bow.


3. Guardians of the Galaxy

???????????????????????????????????????????????The best action/comedy of all time is Guardians of the Galaxy. Of this I have absolutely no doubt. A great story, awesome characters, special effects for days, over the top action, and I am Groot! This movie had it all, but it was a great year for movies, and there’s a couple of discs I’d rather see in the fat man’s sack with my name in them.


2. Frozen

FrozenI have to admit, I’m a sucker for musicals. Not so much Disney musicals, but the real-deal like West Side Story and A Chorus Line. With that said, though, Frozen took a Broadway direction with the score of Frozen, and, at the movie’s heart, it’s an X-Men story. If only Professor X could have found Elsa, things would have been so different. Getting this on the 25th is the only way I’ll see a white Christmas.


1. Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Captain-America-The-Winter-Soldier-PosterNo other home movie release this year combined more of my favorite things. Comic book characters, big-time action, social commentary in fiction, and comic book characters! Watching this film in theaters was the 12-year-old me’s version of the best kind of dream anyone can have, and any movie that makes me want to tell the younger me that everything will be worth it some day is bound to be my pick for the Top. If I don’t get this I’m going Grinch on everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

